Catriona Le May Doan, the Dutch, and Speedskating

I learned what the difference between figure, hockey and speed skates were very young. My father was a hockey referee, my mother had speed skates, those old ones with leather boots and long steel blades.

For years I wanted to put on those speed skates by the length of the blades scared me. One day, I finally did put them on, and cruised over a frozen lake. After years of using figure skates, I loved the way the speed skates let me move. Stopping was a different story and I found out how much ice can bruise my butt more than a few times until I was reminded to “snow plow”, a skill I had learned on downhill skis.

Skating on speed skates is great! It takes far less energy to get going, and the blades don’t rock so I could take long, easy strokes and enjoy the ride! I found out just how under-coordinated I was though, when I tries to turn. Amazing how much snow and ice you can plow when you slide sideways on a frozen lake.

But, after an hour of practice, I did manage to complete several circles without fear of spearing my butt, someone else, or making huge divots on the ice.

I have tried several times to find a place to buy some speed skates, but, unlike Holland or other places, the skates are hard to find.

I have watched speed skating competitions for many years, and when Catriona was advancing up the ranks, I was amazed at her skill, the huge length of each stroke, and above all, her incredible strength. Taking corners on skates, as I have found out, requires a real awareness of your entire body, especially your feet. Catriona seemed unstoppable at times, even to the point of my thinking she was not skating but floating over the ice while using some kind of magic to be seen as skating.

Now, on to this Olympics. I have friends in Holland and speed skating is their national passion. Sandra said the Dutchies go “gek”, and her translation was gek=crazy! So, while the speed skating competitions are on, Sandra and I follow the races, cheering on the Dutch if there are no Canadians within medal contention, and cheering our own competitors if there are.

What really makes this fun is listening to Catriona comment on the races, the technique, the skill, and definitely the strength each of the competitors have or are missing. This really makes watching a lot more informative, a lot more fun, and at the end of the racing, very satisfying.

Canadians who like to know the speed skating news heard about Catriona’s daughter being born, but in a passing small bit of news, while the Dutch papers covered that event with large items. Hmmm maybe Greta will become either a rancher like her dad or another strong woman with skates on like her mom. Maybe Greta will find a way to combine the two.. . . .. .

I do cheer on the Dutch skaters, but I want our own skaters to do very well on the day. That is the huge difference with the Olympic games, you are allowed to cheer on skaters from all over the world without being seen as “unpatriotic” and it makes the whole thing a lot more fun.

Thank you Catriona, Jeremy, Clara, and all the skaters for giving us a lot to cheer for. There are new skaters who need Canadian support, and perhaps the best place to show that support is by selling speed skates in the sporting stores. I would love to teach someone young how to just glide over another frozen lake and go for a nice, long ride on those blades.

Leave a comment