People do NOT die “from diseases”

I know everyone has seen the advertisements, the drives for funds, the constant barrage of medications, and the incessant vigilance required to enjoy a healthy life.

One huge problem with this. People do NOT die from disease. People die when they are ready to die, and if they are dealing with a disease, that is used to get to the door of death with a reason, a way to go.

There is no way to stop people from dying, whether from accidents, disease or just old age. When I see advertisements that try to say that this or that medication will stop people from dying, I get annoyed, to say the very least. There is NO immortality pill, and there is a very good reason for dying.

“Saving lives” with some treatment is a pure fallacy, it will not happen. I know quite well I will die, and actually I do look forward to going. It will mean that I have chosen to leave, that I have decided there is really not much left here for me to do.

Dying is a biological necessity.

Dying is a spiritual and psychological necessity, for after a while the exuberant, ever-renewed energies of the spirit can no longer be translated into flesh…The self outgrows the flesh.

It is not understood that before life an individual decides to live. A self is not simply the accidental personification of the body’s biological mechanism. Each person born desires to be born.I am not speaking here of the desire for suicide, which involves a definite killing of the body by self-deliberate means often of a violent nature. Ideally this desire for death, however, would simply involve the slowing of the body’s processes, the gradual disentanglement of psyche from flesh; or in other instances, according to individual characteristics, a sudden, natural stopping of the body’s processes. Left alone, the self and the body are so entwined that the separation would be smooth. The body would automatically follow the wishes of the inner self. In the case of suicide, for example, the self is to some extent acting out of context with the body, which still has its own will to live. I will have more to say about suicide, but I do not mean here to imply guilt on the part of a person who takes his or her own life. In many cases, a more natural death would have ensued in any event as the result of diseases.

Suicide is usually a result of that person becoming so mentally boxed in, so enclosed in hopelessness and helplessness that they are looking for a way to get out of that box, out of that very limited world they have created.

Disease is actually a healing mechanism. We get coughs, colds, and we are told, or tell ourselves, “go to bed and rest”. We use disease to boost the healthy response to infections that otherwise may be deadly. H1N1 is probably one of the most recent examples. I did get it, was ill, and now I am fully aware that my body is now immune.

Even such things as cancer and other “diseases” (literally a dis-ease) within the body is a means to get our attention, to make us look at what we are doing and to figure out why this is happening.  Many events will do the same thing without affecting our bodies, but I have seen that highly emotional events are very often followed by such things as a cold or flu.

We live in such a demanding society that if we just said, “I need time to myself, to think and figure out things”, we are frowned on, scoffed at for being lazy,  and denied the healing we need. So, we get a cold, the flu, whatever, and then we are told to stay home, to stay away from others, to rest.

How much smarter would it be to just realize that time taken to reconsider, to think and change our own way of doing things, would be much easier if we DID listen to our bodies?

Someone I know died a few years ago, and the way they went caused me to seriously think about why people choose certain diseases, certain ways of enduring events that horrified me. It took me a long time to realize some of the reasons, but the deepest reasons went with that person when they died.

Most people fear dying, death, or anything connected with it. I am not one of those, perhaps because I know that dying does NOT mean the end of me, my personality, but the stoppage of the functioning of my body. I live on, and so does every person I know whose life has ended.

If there were no death, you would have to invent it — for the context of that selfhood would be as limited as the experience of a great sculptor given but one hunk of stone. There must be more to our selves than just one shot at a life, then some long-term stasis in limbo waiting for one event or another. We see the seasons, we know that each autumn the leaves will fall, die, and become part of the renewal of spring, yet we tend to deny ourselves the question that resides in that process. What happens to us after we die? Do we move on to a new spring, where we are once again part of the earth?

I am not even going to try to give answers for these questions. Each person MUST ask them for themselves.

Please do NOT tell me that “cancer can be beaten” or that by some medication I will find immortality. That is just a lie, a very vicious deception.When I see these advertisements, they tell me how desperate people are for hope, even a very false hope, that the ones they love will not die from disease.   We all die and there are many very good reasons to die.

I may be immortal as a personality, but my body is not me, and it will cease to function.

Leave a comment